Mass in C

16 May 2020
Starts at 07:30 PM
Leeds Town Hall
Buy tickets

Beethoven Calm sea and prosperous voyage, Op. 112
Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C major, "Jupiter", K551
Beethoven Mass in C major, Op. 86

Sarah Fox soprano
Catriona Morison mezzo soprano
Joshua Ellicott tenor
David Soar bass
Leeds Festival Chorus
Leeds Philharmonic
St Peter's Singers
Manchester Camerata
David Hill

Part of Leeds International Concert Season

A Beethoven sandwich, the filling being Mozart’s final symphony, the last movement of which is one of the finest feats of counterpoint ever written.  Before it is the cantata Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, a short masterpiece from the last years of Beethoven’s life setting two poems by Goethe.   After the interval comes Beethoven’s Mass in C, nowadays rather in the shadow of the massive Missa Solemnis but a deeply satisfying work in its own right.